The Padma Awards

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

All nominations received for Padma Awards are placed before the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members. The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.

The Padma awards, were conferred on 119 recipients in 2021. A ceremony to honour the awardees could not be held in 2020 and was delayed in 2021 owing to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Padma Vibhushan

It is the second-highest civilian honor of India is given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by the government servants.

Padma Bhushan

The Padma Bhushan represents the third highest civilian award in the Republic of India and is awarded to recognise distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field.

Padma Shri

It is given by distinguished service in any field including service rendered by the Government servants.

Padma Awards 2021

Padma Vibhushan –

Padma Bhushan –

Padma Shri –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: